

ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

4205 North 7th Avenue, Suite 300 • Phoenix, Arizona 85013

Telephone (602) 242-1492 • Fax (602) 242-1445

www.dentalboard.az.gov

BOARD UPDATE AND REMINDERS

It's that time of year when some of you must make application for renewal of your licensure. Board staff is still working on continuing education audits from the last calendar year! You can obtain a concise continuing education guide on the Board's website at www.dentalboard.az.gov, under publications and then scrolling and clicking on Continuing Education Rules.

Based on our most recent renewal experience, here are some practical tips and reminders:

- Ensure that your continuing education is "Recognized continuing dental education" which is
 defined in Arizona Administrative Code (Rules), Article 1. Board staff frequently receives
 questions about whether or not a specific program is acceptable. The Board does not "approve"
 continuing education programs.
- Ensure you maintain ALL documentation from your attendance in accordance with Arizona Administrative Code R4-11-1201F.
- Ensure that self-study courses do not exceed 24 hours. You may take more than 24 hours; however, only 24 hours will be counted toward your renewal.
- Ensure that you take the appropriate CPR course. The rules were changed last year regarding
 this. Your CPR must be healthcare provider level or PALS or ACLS. If you complete an online
 course, the course must contain a physical demonstration of skills. Many licensees who were
 audited failed to meet this requirement.
- Ensure that the Board has YOUR CORRECT PRIMARY MAILING ADDRESS. This is utilized to send any communication from the Board. The Board may issue a penalty for failure to inform the Board of your current primary mailing address. I am always amazed at the number of licensees who fail to do this. Additionally, you must change your triennial certificate either by mailing in your current one to be reissued another one or submit \$25.00 to receive a new one.
- Ensure your renewal is sent in prior to June 30, 2015 to avoid the \$100 late fee penalty.
- CONSIDER FILING YOUR RENEWAL ONLINE! This will save you time and resources.

By the time this is published, many bills representing legislative changes will have been discussed at the Capitol. Several of these may impact the dental community. One of these is related to the Controlled Substance Monitoring Program.

Many articles have been written about this to remind and encourage licensees with a DEA certificate that the law requires all health professionals to register with the Arizona Pharmacy Board's program. There is a link on the Dental Board's website's home page for easy access for licensees. As reported previously, some of the discussion is that at the time of licensure renewal, verification must be obtained that the licensee has queried his profile with the Controlled Substance Monitoring Program. However, as many of you are aware, legislation change considerably from the time they are introduced to the final approval!

The last Inscriptions column had several frequently asked questions (FAQs) and here are some recent questions asked by your peers:

Can I numb patients for a colleague and then send them to the colleague's office?

Board staff cannot provide legal advice; however, one should perhaps consider the liability and whether or not this was a patient of record.

I am interested in utilizing platelet rich proteins as a means of enhancing osseous and soft tissue grafts for my practice. What are the requirements and rules for doing blood draws in a dental office? Does having the patient do the blood draw at a lab and having the blood sample centrifuged in an office allowable?

Again, Board staff cannot provide legal advice. The Dental Practice Act is silent regarding this matter. Perhaps the licensee could contact his insurance carrier to explore this matter further.

Thank you for your ongoing support, questions, and feedback and may football season come soon!