

## ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

4205 North 7th Avenue, Suite 300 • Phoenix, Arizona 85013
Telephone (602) 242-1492 • Fax (602) 242-1445

## **BODEX UPDATE**

I recently participated in the Good, Bad and the Ugly at the Southern Arizona Dental Association. These are always interesting and beneficial both for the licensees and me as I appreciate hearing the various challenges facing licensees in an informal manner. A licensee approached me after the session to ask about a case which involves social media. Board staff receives calls from licensees regarding this topic and we usually listen and state that the Board does not have jurisdiction over patients who may be waging a social media war/attack on the licensee. There may be means to stop this type of conduct and a licensee should seek legal counsel to explore legal options. Social media is here to stay. In today's environment, it may be difficult to satisfy every patient and their ability to express their dissatisfaction is enhanced with social media.

Some interesting ethical case scenarios were presented at the session, many of which have been before the Dental Board. Licensees do contact the Board in some of these scenarios; however, as I have communicated frequently in this publication, Board staff cannot render legal opinions or provide advice. For example, you have substantiated information that a dentist is allowing unlicensed personnel to perform dentistry. If you believe unprofessional conduct has occurred, ARS 32- 1201 21 (bb) states that it is unprofessional conduct to fail to report in writing to the Board that a licensee may be professionally incompetent; engaging in unprofessional conduct; impaired by drugs or alcohol; or mentally or physically unable to safely engage in the activities of a licensee pursuant to the Dental Practice Act. Specific details should be provided including patient names when appropriate.

Complaints to the Board can be made confidentially in accordance with ARS 32-1263.02 (A) unless the information is essential to the investigative proceedings. A complainant is not privy to any of the information in the investigation in accordance with ARS 32-1263.02 (K).

The Board met on June 6, 2014 and took the following actions:

- Granted one petition to rehear
- Approved one disciplinary consent agreement
- Approved four non-disciplinary consent agreements for continuing education which included: Crown and bridge
  - Recordkeeping (two of the orders)
  - Laser treatment of periodontal disease
  - Appropriate prescribing and documentation of controlled substances
- Approved one letter of concern
- Approved 15 anesthesia evaluators
- Upheld seven Executive Director terminations
- Conducted one formal interview

By the time this has been published, Board staff will have completed the renewal process for this year's licensees whose license expired on June 30, 2014. Kudos to Nancy Chambers, Deputy Director, and her team for their countless hours including weekends to ensure renewals are reviewed and processed in a timely manner. Board staff is always surprised at the number of licensees who fail to provide the Board with an address change. ARS 32- 1236 (E) requires that a licensee provide a current address of record within 10 days. Failure to do so will result in a \$50.00 fine or \$100.00 fine if it exceeds 30 days.

The Board has a mandated new "look" and URL which is www.dentalboard.az.gov. We encourage licensees to review their profile and other pertinent information. Thank you!